75 Pioneer Street, FOSTER, VIC 3960
03 5631 6000

Curriculum Information

Curriculum Overview

At Foster Primary School we take great pride in our curriculum. Our Learning and Teaching Programs are designed to encourage and promote a love of life long learning. We believe that everyone can learn to learn by being and doing our best always.  The new Victorian Curriculum forms the core of our school’s comprehensive and integrated curriculum programs. Whilst teachers use a wide variety of additional resources, the school’s curriculum structure and focus is based on the new Victorian Curriculum.

The Victorian Curriculum incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian standards and priorities.   The Victorian Curriculum gives students the skills they need for work and life: literacy, numeracy, scientific knowledge and skills, resilience, respectful relationships, the use of digital technologies and the capacity for critical and creative thinking and expression.

Key features of the new Victorian Curriculum include the following elements:-

* Structured as a learning continuum, that is, developmental levels that enable teachers to identify current levels of achievement and readiness to learn and then plan to enable students to achieve expected levels.

* Capabilities represented as sets of knowledge and skills that are distinct from any single learning area but that students develop and apply across the curriculum.

* Cross-curriculum priorities (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and culture, Asia and Australian’s engagement with Asia and Sustainability) are embedded and included in the learning areas and are not represented as additional or separate components of the curriculum.

Specific features that are new to the Victorian Curriculum include the following:

* Stronger reference to phonics and phonemic awareness in the English curriculum.

* The Digital Technologies curriculum includes computational thinking, developing and evaluating digital solutions and data collection, representation and interpretation. Learning about coding is included in both Digital technologies and Mathematics curriculum.

* Reference to respectful relationships and safety in the home have been strengthened and made more explicit.

* The Victorian Curriculum also now includes, Learning about world views and religions.   For more information visit  http://www.vcaa.vic.edu.au/

In Summary, the Victorian Curriculum is based on eight learning areas and four capabilities.

Foster Primary School has introduced all learning area and capabilities.


The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes capabilities, which are a set of discrete knowledge and skills that can and should be taught explicitly in and through the learning areas, but are not fully defined by any of the learning areas or disciplines. A key distinction between the Australian Curriculum F–10 and the Victorian Curriculum F–10  is the provision of content descriptions and achievement standards in the four capabilities.

The Australian Curriculum F–10 also includes three additional general capabilities:

Literacy, Numeracy, ICT

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 design does not include these three general capabilities as separate learning areas or capabilities with discrete knowledge and skills.

Given the inclusion of a Literacy strand in English, and the proficiencies of understanding, fluency, problem solving, and reasoning in Mathematics, it is unnecessary to define Literacy and Numeracy as a distinct curriculum. The learning of the skills and knowledge defined by the ICT general capability are now embedded in student learning across the curriculum.

There is considerable research that identifies the importance of the teaching of literacy and numeracy and ICT in the context of the different curriculum areas. It is both appropriate and necessary that the literacy, numeracy and ICT requirements be embedded in the curriculum areas.

Standards and levels

Standards and levels  The Victorian Curriculum F–10 is structured as a continuum across levels of learning achievement not years of schooling. This enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students, where the curriculum is used to plan in relation to the actual learning level of each student rather than their assumed level of learning based on age.

Further information on the placement of the achievement standards is available:

Victorian Curriculum Foundation–10: Structure 

The achievement standards reflect the emphasis within the broad stages of schooling, these being:

Foundation stage (Years F–2)

The focus is on the five curriculum areas of English, Mathematics, The Arts, Health and Physical Education, and Personal and Social capability. Breadth stage (Years 3–8)

Students have the opportunity to fully engage with all learning areas and capabilities, with a focus on English, Mathematics, Science.

Cross-curriculum Priorities

Cross-curriculum Priorities  Learning about the cross-curriculum priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia, and Sustainability is embedded in the learning areas of the Victorian Curriculum F–10.

Learning about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures

Diversity of Learners

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 has been developed to ensure that curriculum content and achievement standards enable continuous learning for ALL students, including:

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 structure enables the curriculum to be used to appropriately target the learning level of each individual student in a class. This includes gifted and talented students who are able to work well above the nominally age expected level of achievement.


Achievement standards: Statements that describe what students are typically able to understand and do, and are the basis for reporting student achievement.

Content descriptions: Specific and discrete information identifying what teachers are expected to teach and students are expected to learn.

Elaborations: Non-mandated, advisory examples that provide guidance on how the curriculum may be transformed into a classroom activity or learning opportunity.

Level/Band descriptions: Statements that provide an overview to the content descriptions and achievement standard within the level or band.

Strands: Key organising elements within each curriculum area.

Foster Primary School seeks to build upon its already strong community relationships and positive student achievements.  In partnership with our learning community, we will continue to provide our students with the means and motivation to excel and lead us into an exciting future.  We each give Our Best Always.

Language to Encourage Perseverance

You look as though you’re really enjoying that.

We can do it!

I can’t do it yet, but I can learn how to…

What happened when you got stuck before?

What did you do towork it out last time?

That’s great!  You were stuck and now you’re not.
I wonder what you did to move on?

I’m not really sure about how to do this.  Any ideas?

It’s when you get stuck that you really begin to learn.

I made a mistake here.  I wonder why that might be?

Look at the stuck prompt poster for an idea to move
you on.

Everyone finds learning difficult at times.

Take a break from this for a while and come back to it later.

How did it feel to persist with….?

Great!  You’ve come through that confused feeling.
What helped you?